My Top Albums of 2013

Merry Christmas Eve! I hope you’re enjoying this holiday season with loved ones.

We’re almost at my top albums of 2016 post, and I promise we’ll get there. BUT we’ve only reached halfway for my lists of years past. We’ve gone through 20102011, 2012. Now, let me show you 2013. This is the year I stepped up my A/V game. Enjoy.

~

2013 Manny: As tradition always insists, I will once again share a top ten list of my favourite albums from this past year. I’ll also include a favourite track (though it was hard to choose just one) per album as a nice listening sample. Here we go…

10. Said the Whale – hawaiii

(Guess who’s featured at the end of this song? Hint: He also features on this list… )

9. Kodaline – In a Perfect World

8. Lorde – Pure Heroine

7. Gungor – I Am Mountain

6. Phoenix – Bankrupt!

5. Royal Canoe – Today We’re Believers

(It was so hard to choose just one from this album… But on SoundCloud you are able to stream the entire thing! Check these local wonders out if you haven’t!)

4. Shad – Flying Colours

(You can also stream the entire album on SoundCloud… and yes, Shad features on “Resolutions” for Said the Whale!)

3. Jars of Clay – Inland

 2. Arcade Fire – Reflektor

ANNND my #1 album of 2013 goes to…

1. The National – Trouble Will Find Me

(2016 Manny: Where do I start with The National… One of my favourite groups ever. I finally saw them live at the inaugural Eaux Claires music festival in Wisconsin two summers ago. It was incredible. They’ve really figured out the emotional, synergistic power of music and lyrics together. It just fits perfectly. Their sound is mostly sombre and solemn, but the message is real and reflective in a way that’s inspiring to me. Listen to this album in full. It’s one of my all-time favourites)

 

 

Honourable Mentions:

Vampire Weekend – Modern Vampires of the City

Justin Timberlake – The 20/20 Experience

Please, feel free to share your thoughts and suggestions.

Have a safe and fun New Year’s celebration!

CHEERS

3 thoughts on “My Top Albums of 2013

  1. Pingback: My Top Albums of the Year (2014) | Manuel's Musings & Manuscripts

  2. Pingback: My Top Albums of the Year (2015) | Manuel's Musings & Manuscripts

  3. Pingback: My Top Albums of 2016 | Manuel's Musings & Manuscripts

Leave a Reply

